New Grad Students – Welcome!

Each year we welcome a new cohort of learners into the department to pursue a Master’s of Arts in Applied Sociology. Following is a brief introduction to two of our newest graduate students, Teri Kesti and Erin Whitesitt.

Teri Kesti

Q: What is your hometown?
A: Duluth, MN

Q: What brought you to Flagstaff/NAU?
A: When I applied for grad schools, I only applied to places that my family and I would enjoy living… I was definitely attracted to the mountains and forests and awesome nature surrounding the city. 

Q: What are your current/potential research interests?
A: I am very interested in studying the social construction of modern childbirth practices.  I’ve been working as a childbirth/pregnancy advocate and midwifery assistant since 2011, so I am excited to start looking at this aspect of our culture through the “sociological lens”.  I am also interested in topics such as family, religion, and have a background in criminology.

Q: If you were stuck on a deserted island, what three things would you want/need with you?
A: I would definitely want my family to be there with me, a good book, and a good, durable pair of Chaco sandals!

Erin Whitesitt

Q: What is your hometown?
A: My current hometown is Cottonwood, AZ but I grew up in Nikiski, Alaska. 

Q: What brought you to Flagstaff/NAU?
A: I came to NAU because I wanted to study sociology and it was the nearest major university that offered a program of interest to me.

Q: What are your current/potential research interests?
A: My research interests include gender-based violence, social stratification, human sexuality, and HIV/AIDS (as a social problem). 

Q: If you were stuck on a deserted island, what three things would you want/need with you?
A: If I were stuck on a desert island, I would need my Kindle, a good moisturizer, and a bottle of red wine.  (All of these things in addition to her three children, of course.)

Welcome to the department, Teri and Erin!

Leave a Reply

