Introducing: Jamie Clem!

The next faculty member we are pleased to introduce is Jamie Clem!  She joined our Social Work faculty.  Here are her answers to our brief questionnaire:

Jamie Clem

Q: Where did you study? 
A: I’m currently in the process of finishing my dissertation from Florida State University in Tallahassee, FL

Q: Why did you choose Social Work?
A:
I originally went into social work as a way to work with clients in a helping capacity. I’ve always been interested in service, and social work afforded the opportunity to work with vulnerable populations in a way that truly spoke to me. 

Q: What are your main areas of research/interest?
A:
My primary area of research is in substance abuse. I’m interested in exploring experiential and expressive interventions for individuals seeking treatment. I’m particularly drawn to the therapeutic use of the outdoors. I believe nature has may inherent healing qualities and can be a source of empowerment, particularly for oppressed individuals.

Q: What classes are you teaching?  What classes would you like to teach in the future?
A:
This semester I’m teaching two sections of Crisis Intervention and two sections of Practice 2. While I enjoy teaching across the curriculum, I’m really looking forward to Crisis again next semester.  

Q: What’s your favorite thing about Flagstaff and/or NAU so far?
A:
The community at NAU and in Flagstaff as a whole is unlike anything I’ve experienced. The people I’m surrounded by are extraordinarily thoughtful and sincerely care about what they do. Their commitment to students is nothing short of inspiring. I feel lucky to be a part of an institution that values student-centered education so highly.

Leave a Reply

