Introducing: Katherine Everhart

Katherine Everhart is a new Sociology Instructor.  Keep reading to learn more about her!

Katherine Everhart

Q: Where did you study?
A: I earned my B.A. in Sociology from the University of North Carolina at Asheville in 1999, my M.A. in Sociology from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in 2006, my M.A. in Sociology  from Vanderbilt University in 2011 and my Ph.D. in Sociology from Vanderbilt University expected in 2015.

Q: Why did you choose Sociology?
A: As an undergraduate, I began as a Social Work major. I was interested in working hands-on with individuals in our society who need the most assistance. In particularly, I was interested in potentially working with survivors of childhood abuse. After a year of taking classes in Social Work, I realized I wanted to explore the roots of social issues and problems. For instance, I wanted to understand more about the structures, such as race, class, and gender, that may or may not affect childhood abuse and the experiences of these individuals. Sociology offered me the opportunity to view social issues more broadly in terms of what causes the likelihood of social problems rather than providing assistance and support to individuals.

Q: What are your main areas of research/interest?
A: My main areas of interest include: sociology of culture, art/music, social movements, political sociology, and new media. My master’s thesis explained the ways in which gender is socially constructed within a skateboarding community within a southeastern city in the United States. My doctoral dissertation explains how art and cultural expressions were utilized within the University of Puerto Rico Student Occupation that took place in 2010.

Q: What classes are you teaching?  What would you like to teach in the future?
A: Generally, I teach SOC 204, Sociology of Gender, and SOC 215, Race and Ethnic Relations. In addition to these two courses, this spring, I will also be teaching an independent study with an advanced undergraduate student tentatively entitled, Flawless Feminisms: Race and Feminism of Beyonce and Nicki Minaj. In the future, I would be interested in teaching a course on Art and Protest, Youth and Political Engagement, and Media and Social Movements.

Q: What’s your favorite thing about Flagstaff and/or NAU so far?
A: My favorite thing about Flagstaff and NAU, so far, is being surrounded by so much natural beauty. Although I stay busy teaching my courses and finishing my dissertation, I am still amazed at all the beauty the city has to offer each time I walk to campus or look out my apartment window. When I do get a chance to visit downtown, I’m a fan of Firecreek Coffee Company, The McMillan, Criollo, and Pizzicleta.

Leave a Reply

